Mayor's Youth Council


Indya Kincannon
(865) 215-2040

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

Last item for navigation
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
The Mayor’s Youth Council consists of 17 young people who share a desire to be more involved with local government and decision making. 

Earlier this year, Empower Knox invited youth ages 12 to 20 years old to attend one of two virtual forums to discuss their thoughts on City government, its role in their lives and the community at large. Attendees identified strategies for both improving communication with the City and Knoxville’s long term growth. Many participants also identified violence, inequities, transportation and activities for young people as their top concerns. 

The council will meet routinely, starting this summer. Primary activities will include education on municipal services, collaborations with peers and youth-serving nonprofit organizations, and strategic planning. 

Members of the City’s first Youth Council are listed by school and grade: 

Austin East High School

Aaliyah Rice, 12th grade
Kyniya Hutchison, 11th  grade
Maleek Bishop, 11th grade
Yasmine Croom, 10th grade
Tylan Baker, 9th grade

Bearden Middle School

Darian Macon, 8th grade
Farragut High School
Nolan Du, 12th grade
Sam Kittrell, 11th grade

Farragut Middle School

Camilla Mata, 8th grade

Holston Middle School

Deion Moten, 8th grade

Richard Yoakley High School

Aniya McIlwaine, 11th grade
Destiny Laurence, 10th grade

Vine Middle School

Shermija Whitehead, 8th grade

Webb School of Knoxville

Molly Crawford, 10th grade

West High School

Coogie Person, 10th grade
Owen Davis, 9th grade
Henry Foster-Tobin, 9th grade