• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
LOCATION
Plans Review & Inspections
City of Knoxville
400 Main Street, Suite 475
Knoxville, TN 37902
 
OFFICE HOURS
Monday-Friday
8:00am to 4:30pm
GENERAL INQUIRIES
Please send email to bldginspections@knoxvilletn.gov
or call 865-215-3669
CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS
Click here to pay by credit card. For questions call 865-215-3669 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.

CHANGE TO SIGN PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS

On Wednesday, August 11, 2021, Plans Review & Inspections staff held a public meeting on changes to the sign permit application process. At this meeting the following presentation was given outlining changes. A pdf copy can be found here, along with a sign checklist summarizing requirements when submitting.

Sign applications are now submitted using the Plans Review and Building Permit Application [PDF]. Please follow instructions found at the top of the application.

DeAnn Bogus
Deputy Director of Building Inspections

865-215-4282

Bryan Berry, AICP
Deputy Director of Zoning & Development Services
865-215-2863

The Plans Review & Inspections Division promotes quality development and preserves neighborhood integrity and safety through plans review, permits, building inspections, and other regulatory activities.

Not sure where to start? Check out our Fast Fact Sheets and Frequently Asked Questions.

EMAIL PLANS REVIEW APPLICATIONS TO: bldginspections@knoxvilletn.gov

To check on the status of your plans review application, call 865-215-4830 or go to Plans Review & Permit Inquiry and then enter your plans review number.

CONTACTS FOR REVIEW OF PLANS:

Zoning Regulations, Landscaping, and Form District Projects:
Scott Elder, Zoning Chief, selder@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-215-4473

Building Regulations, Alternative Building Code, NC-1, H-1, CBID & Arborist Requirements:
James Tente, Chief of Building Inspections & Plans Review, jtente@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-215-3096

Sign Regulations:
Rebecca Johnson, Zoning & Sign Inspector, rjohnson@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-215-2992

Electrical and Solar Regulations:
Timothy Marcum, tmarcum@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-755-2548

Gas, Mechanical and Plumbing Regulations:
Charlie Johnson, Chief of Plumbing/Gas/Mechanical, cejohnson@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-215-3109

Fire Regulations:
Sonny Partin, Fire Inspections, spartin@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-215-2843

Site, Drainage and Parking Access/Layout:
Joshua Frerichs, Engineering, jfrerichs@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-215-2798

Wastewater Regulations:
Travis Franklin, Knoxville Utilities Board, travis.frankin@kub.org, 865-558-2260

KnoxPlans/Electronic Review Regulations:
Lily Seabolt, Development Services Coordinator, lseabolt@knoxvilletn.gov, 865-215-2626