Knox County Air Pollution Control Board

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+
  • Share via Email
The Knox County Air Pollution Control Board was formed in 1969 under the enabling legislation of Chapter 37, Tennessee Private Acts of 1969. The Board's responsibilities are legislative and judicial. It also conducts public hearings on proposed changes or additions to Knox County Air Pollution Control Regulations.

The members of the board represent one of the following: city government, county government, medicine, commerce, the University of Tennessee, Pellissippi State Community College, Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization, local technical societies and the public at large. Each member serves a four-year term.


Public meetings are held by the board at least once a quarter usually on the third Wednesday of January, April, July and October at 4:00 p.m. in the 2nd floor conference room at the Knox County Health Department.


Mike Conger
Representing Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization

George Cox, PE
Representing Pellissippi State Community College

Paul M. Fortunato, Vice Chairperson 
Representing The Knoxville Area Chamber Partnership

Dr. Joshua Fu, Ph.D
Representing the University of Tennessee

Jim Hagerman, P.E. 
Representing the City of Knoxville 

Stephen J. Hillenbrand, P.E.
Representing The Technical Society of Knoxville 

Lynne A. Liddington, Director
Knox County Air Quality Management 
Technical Secretary, Knox County Air Pollution Control Board

Dr. Michael Miller, M.D. 
Representing The Knoxville Academy of Medicine 

Cindy Pionke, PE
Representing the Knox County Government

Lisa H. Stinton, Chairperson 
Representing Knox County Citizens at Large